Established in 2003, the ASA Medal is awarded biennially in recognition of an outstanding contribution to the Australian writing community. The medal complements the ASA's main focus as an advocate for the rights of authors and illustrators. > more
The Asher Literary Award is offered biennially to a female author whose work carries an anti-war theme. The Award is managed by the Australian Society of Authors on behalf of the Literature Board of the Australia Council, and is valued at $12,000. > more
The Barbara Jefferis Award is offered annually for 'the best novel written by an Australian author that depicts women and girls in a positive way or otherwise empowers the status of women and girls in society'. > more
2017 Emerging Writers’ and Illustrators’ Mentorship Program supported by Copyright Agency Cultural FundThe Australian Society of Authors (ASA) Emerging Writers’ and Illustrators’ Mentorship Program provides the winners of these award mentorships with the opportunity to develop their early draft manuscript to a publishable standard through 13 free mentorships with professional mentors. > more
The annual Ray Koppe Young Writers’ Residency offers a week’s stay at Varuna, The Writers’ House in Katoomba NSW to an unpublished writer under 30. > more
$10,000 fellowship provides creators access to special library collections > more

The ASA administers and runs the yearly Barbara Jefferis Award, the Children's Picture Book Illustrators' Initiative and the Ray Koppe Young Writers' Residency.

Our Supporters