ASA member Kate Grenville wins 2017 Australia Council Award


Yesterday the Australia Council for the Arts announced eight remarkable artists who have been recognised this year for their significant contributions to the cultural and artistic fabric of the nation.

The prestigious Australia Council Awards recognise the life-long and continued contributions by artists in music, literature, community arts and cultural development, emerging and experimental arts, visual arts, theatre and dance.

The 2017 Australia Council Award recipients include; ASA member Kate Grenville (NSW) – Australia Council Award for Lifetime Achievement in Literature; Lyn Williams OAM (QLD) – Don Banks Music Award; Stephen Page (NSW) – Australia Council Dance Award; Madeleine Flynn (VIC) – Australia Council Emerging & Experimental Arts Award; Susan Cohn (VIC) – Australia Council Visual Arts Award; Rosemary Myers (SA) – Australia Council Theatre Award and Steve Mayer-Miller (QLD) – Ros Bower Award.

The Australia Council Award for Lifetime Achievement in Literature, formerly the Writers’ Emeritus Award, acknowledges the achievements of eminent literary writers over the age of 60 who have made an outstanding and lifelong contribution to Australian literature. Past winners include David Malouf AO (2016), Thomas Keneally (2015), Frank Moorhouse AM (2013), Herb Wharton (2012) and the late Christopher Koch (2007).

Congratulations to all recipients from the ASA!

Share this page
© 2017 Australian Society of Authors (ASA)