The Barbara Jefferis Award

The Barbara Jefferis Award is offered for "the best novel written by an Australian author that depicts women and girls in a positive way or otherwise empowers the status of women and girls in society."

Barbara Jefferis was a feminist, a founding member of the Australian Society of Authors, its first woman President and, in the words of Thomas Keneally, "a rare being amongst authors, being both a fine writer but also organisationally gifted. She was a professional and internationally published writer long before most of us dreamed of such things."

The Award is paid from the Barbara Jefferis Literary Fund, which has been established as a result of a bequest from Barbara Jefferis’s husband, ABC film critic John Hinde, who died in 2006. The Australian Society of Authors is Trustee of the Fund.

In 2016 the Award is valued at $55,000, including a $50,000 prize for the winner.

Important dates

Entries open: Tuesday 8 March 2016
Entries close: Monday 2 May 2016
Winner announced: October 2016

Previous Winners

2014: Margo Lanagan (Sea Hearts) & Fiona McFarlane
(The Night Guest)

2012: Anna Funder - All That I Am

2011: G.L. Osborne - Come Inside

2010: Kristina Olsson - The China Garden

2009: Helen Garner - The Spare Room

2008: Rhyll McMaster - Feather Man


Our Supporters